A+ A A-

Executive Committee

While the CREF Board as a whole meets once per year, substantial work is conducted through its various committees. The strategic decisions taken by the Board of Trustees regarding the development of CyI necessitate follow up actions, which are pursued by its Executive Committee. The Executive Committee, currently chaired by Dr. Andreas Pittas, provides guidance to the management of the Institute for furthering its progress.


Dr. Andreas Pittas (Chair, Executive Committee)
Founder and Chairman, Medochemie, Cyprus
Former Chair, Cyprus Employers and Industrialists Federation

Andreas Pittas trained as a medical doctor in Austria. He is the Founder and Executive Chairman of Medochemie Ltd. He is a member of a number of scientific committees and organizations overseas, such as the British Association of Pharmaceutical Physicians and he has been Vice-Pesident of the European Generic Medicines Association (Brussels). He served as the Chairman of the Employers’ and Industrialists’ Federation for many years. He served as member of the Board of Directors of the Human Resource Development Authority of Cyprus, the Bank of Cyprus and the Cyprus Development Bank.

Andreas Pittas

Prof. Didier Roux (Chair of the Board of Trustees)
Delegate for Scientific Information and Communication of the French Academy of Sciences

Didier Roux currently serves as the Delegate for Scientific Information and Communication at the Académie des Sciences. Prof. Roux also served as the Vice President of Research & Development and Innovation and Director of Innovation of the Saint-Gobain Group in France and he is a member of the French Academy of Sciences.

A chemist by training, he has explored various facets of science and its interfaces (chemistry, physics, biology, industry, etc.) and has been awarded many prizes and distinctions including the Grand Prix IBM materials, the Grand Prix of the French Academy of Sciences Mergier Bourdeix and the Silver Medal of CNRS.

Didier Roux

Prof. David Andelman (Chair of the Scientific Advisory Council)
Professor of Physics
Tel Aviv University

David Andelman is a professor of Condensed Matter Physics and Biophysics and the incumbent of the Moyses Nussenzveig chair in Statistical Physics at Tel Aviv University. His research interests include the theory of soft condensed matter, statistical and biological physics as well as environmental science and renewable energies. He serves as the head of the Breakthrough Research Grant (BRG) program of the Israel Science Foundation and also has served as the chair of the School of Physics at Tel Aviv University.
He is a fellow of the American Physics Society and was awarded, among others, the Humboldt Research Award, the Bourke Award by the Royal Society, the Chinese Academy of Science Presidential International Fellowship, and the Henri de Rothschild Fellowship at the Curie Institute, Paris.

Prof. David Andelman
Mr. George Georghiou
Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Defense

George Georghiou is the former Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Defense. Mr. Georghiou held the same position for eight years (2010-2018) with the Directorate General for European Programmes, Coordination and Development. He served as Secretary to the Council of Ministers (2009-2013) whilst he held various positions on numerous Boards. Amongst others he was Chairman of the Board of the Research Promotion Foundation, Chairman of the Committee of the Cyprus Innovation Award of the Cyprus Employers and Industrialists Federation and member of the Boards of Cyprus Airways, the Human Resource Development Agency, the Statistical Council and the Kaimakli Cooperative Bank. He has extensive experience on issues of research, defence, environment, regional development and management of EU funds.

Prof. Ioli Kalavrezou
Harvard University, USA

Ioli Kalavrezou is the Dumbarton Oaks Professor of Byzantine Art, Early Christian and Byzantine at the Department of History of Art and Architecture, Harvard University, where she also served as Chair for six years. She has held professorships at UCLA and the Humbold University, Munich. Her research and publications focus on the arts of the empire of Byzantium

Dr Erato Kozakou-Marcoullis
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Cyprus

Erato Kozakou-Marcoullis served as Minister of Foreign Affairs and as Minister of Communications and Works of the Republic of Cyprus. She has served as Ambassador of Cyprus to the US and as Ambassador to Brazil, Lebanon, Jordan and Sweden. She was also accredited to the World Bank, the IMF, ICAO and the Organization of American States.

EratoKozakouMarkoulli 1
Dr George Pamboridis
Senior Partner of Pamboridis LLC

Dr. George Pamboridis is a corporate lawyer dealing mostly with matters related to Mergers and acquisitions, corporate law, international tax planning, but also Energy law. His extensive shipping background ranks him as one of the leading lawyers in matters of International Shipping regulation. He has also taught International Shipping Law and Energy Law at the University of Cyprus. He was appointed by the President of the Republic of Cyprus on in July 2015 as the Minister of Health, a position he held until the completion of his term in February 2018. He is currently the Senior Partner of Pamboridis LLC.

George Pamporidis

Prof. Costas N. Papanicolas
Institute Professor, President Emeritus and CEO of The Cyprus Research and Educational Foundation (CREF)

Costas N. Papanicolas, the former President of CyI, is a nuclear physicist with over 35 years of experience as a researcher, an educator and a scientific administrator at the University of Illinois and the University of Athens. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, member of the European Academy of Sciences (Academia Europaea) and Founding member of the Cyprus Academy of Sciences Letters and Arts. He is also the Advisor to the President of the Republic of Cyprus and Special Envoy on Climate Change.

Mrs. Androulla Vassiliou
Former European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth and Former Commissioner for Health

Mrs. Androulla Vassiliou served as European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth and as Commissioner for Health. She was twice elected to the Cypriot House of Representatives and as a Parliamentarian she was an active member of the European Affairs Committee and represented the Cyprus Parliament as an alternate member at the Convention on the Future of Europe. 

She was involved in the United Nations Association of Cyprus, being elected as President of it for four consecutive terms. In 1991 she was elected President of the World Federation of United Nations Associations and re-elected for two terms before being made an honorary president.

In Cyprus she has held many important posts and is on the Board of many public and private companies.

Androulla Vassiliou

Publications & Media