A+ A A-

Executive Committee

cyi 3 2019 11 22 152234


While the CREF Board as a whole meets once per year, substantial work is conducted through its various committees. The strategic decisions taken by the Board of Trustees regarding the development of CyI necessitate follow up actions, which are pursued by its Executive Committee. The Executive Committee, currently chaired by Dr. Andreas Pittas, provides guidance to the management of the Institute for furthering its progress.


Dr. Andreas Pittas (Chair, Executive Committee)
Founder and Chairman, Medochemie, Cyprus
Former Chair, Cyprus Employers and Industrialists Federation

Andreas Pittas trained as a medical doctor in Austria. He is the Founder and Executive Chairman of Medochemie Ltd. He is a member of a number of scientific committees and organizations overseas, such as the British Association of Pharmaceutical Physicians and he has been Vice-Pesident of the European Generic Medicines Association (Brussels). He served as the Chairman of the Employers’ and Industrialists’ Federation for many years. He served as member of the Board of Directors of the Human Resource Development Authority of Cyprus, the Bank of Cyprus and the Cyprus Development Bank.

Professor Dan-Olof Riska - Chair of the Board
Finnish Society of Science and Letters

Dan-Olof Riska is an Emeritus Professor of Physics at the University of Helsinki. He has served as Treasurer and as President of the Finnish Society of Science and Letters. He also served as Vice President of the CERN Council, as well as Director of the Helsinki Institute of Physics. His research experience covers a wide field of theoretical and applied physics, including geophysics. He is a fellow of the Royal Swedish Academy of Science, the Finnish Society of Science and Letters, the Finnish Academy of Technical Sciences, the Finnish Academy of Science, as well as of the American Physical Society. He has served as vice president of the European Academies Science Advisory Council and on scientific advisory committees in several countries and the editorial boards of several scientific journals.

Edward Brezin

Mr. George Georghiou
Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Defense

George Georghiou is the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Defense. Mr. Georghiou has served in various posts in DG EPCD with experience in areas such as macroeconomic policy, regional development, environment, external international relations and management of EU funds. He was the Secretary to the Council of Ministers (2009-2013). He is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Cyprus Research Promotion Foundation.. He is also a member of the Board of Directors of Cyprus Airways and the Human Resource Development Authority.

Prof. Costas N. Papanicolas

Costas N. Papanicolas, the former President of CyI, is a nuclear physicist with over 35 years of experience as a researcher, an educator and a scientific administrator at the University of Illinois and the University of Athens. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, member of the European Academy of Sciences (Academia Europaea) and Founding member of the Cyprus Academy of Sciences Letters and Arts. He is also the Advisor to the President of the Republic of Cyprus and Special Envoy on Climate Change.

Prof. Didier Roux
Delegate for Scientific Information and Communication of the French Academy of Sciences
Chair of The Cyprus Institute Scientific Advisory Council

Didier Roux currently serves as the Delegate for Scientific Information and Communication at the Académie des Sciences. Prof. Roux also served as the Vice President of Research & Development and Innovation and Director of Innovation of the Saint-Gobain Group in France and he is a member of the French Academy of Sciences.

A chemist by training, he has explored various facets of science and its interfaces (chemistry, physics, biology, industry, etc.) and has been awarded many prizes and distinctions including the Grand Prix IBM materials, the Grand Prix of the French Academy of Sciences Mergier Bourdeix and the Silver Medal of CNRS.

Roux Didier
Mrs. Androulla Vassiliou
Former European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth and Former Commissioner for Health

Mrs. Androulla Vassiliou served as European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth and as Commissioner for Health. She was twice elected to the Cypriot House of Representatives and as a Parliamentarian she was an active member of the European Affairs Committee and represented the Cyprus Parliament as an alternate member at the Convention on the Future of Europe. 

She was involved in the United Nations Association of Cyprus, being elected as President of it for four consecutive terms. In 1991 she was elected President of the World Federation of United Nations Associations and re-elected for two terms before being made an honorary president.

In Cyprus she has held many important posts and is on the Board of many public and private companies.

Androulla Vassiliou
Mr. Sotirios Zackheos
Executive Director, Russian Commercial Bank, Cyprus
Former Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Cyprus

Sotirios Zackheos serves as the Executive Director of the Russian Commercial Bank in Cyprus. He served as a Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as an Ambassador of Cyprus in China and as Permanent Representative of Cyprus in the UN. He has been honored by the Greek Republic with the Grand Cross of the Order of the Phoenix and also honored by the Slovenian Republic with the Golden Order for Services in the Diplomatic and International Field.