A+ A A-

Member of the Parliament Mr. Prodromos Prodromou visits The Cyprus Institute

Mr. Prodromos Prodromou, Member of the Parliament with the Democratic Rally Party (DHSY) visited The Cyprus Institute’s premises in Athalassa Campus on Thursday, 22nd August.

During the meeting which was also attended by members of the academic and research staff, the President of the Institute, Prof. Costas N. Papanicolas presented the Institute’s overall vision and achievements and briefed Mr. Prodromou about the progress on its strategic development plan, on the research accomplishments, and the problems and challenges that the Institute faces.

Particular emphasis was given to the significant achievements in the areas of Climate Change, Solar Energy and Desalination, Computational Science and the Study and Preservation of Cultural Heritage, all of which highlight the regional nature of the Institute and establish it as a leading research institution in the Eastern Mediterranean. The meeting was also attended by Mr. Kyriakos Kokkinos, Member of CyI’s Board of Trustees and General Manager of IBM Cyprus.

Mr. Prodromou was also toured to a number of research facilities of the Institute, where scientific staff presented some of the innovating research programs of the Institute among which the Cy-Tera supercomputer.


During the meeting Mr. Prodromou stressed the need of focusing on research and innovation in Cyprus as well as the role these play in converting our country to a regional academic center for research. The development of The Cyprus Institute has already contributed towards the realization of the aforementioned goals while its further development is largely defined by them.

Mr. Prodromou expressed his satisfaction for the research programs carried out at CyI, noting that the state should further invest in The Cyprus Institute and other similar research institutes and look for ways to further promote technology transfer between academic research and companies.

inFocus ProdromouVisit

MP Prodromos Prodromou (center) flanked by Board Member Kyriakos Kokkinos (right) and Prof. C. N. Papanicolas