A+ A A-

Scientific Advisory Council

The Board is advised and aided by an international body of distinguished academics known as the Scientific Advisory Council. The Council was assembled under the chairmanship of Prof. Hubert Curien; he was succeeded by Prof. Jose Mariano Gago. The Council is currently chaired by Prof. Didier Roux. The current membership of the Council includes:


Prof. David Andelman (Chair of the Scientific Advisory Council)
Professor of Physics
Tel Aviv University

David Andelman is a professor of Condensed Matter Physics and Biophysics and the incumbent of the Moyses Nussenzveig chair in Statistical Physics at Tel Aviv University. His research interests include the theory of soft condensed matter, statistical and biological physics as well as environmental science and renewable energies. He serves as the head of the Breakthrough Research Grant (BRG) program of the Israel Science Foundation and also has served as the chair of the School of Physics at Tel Aviv University.
He is a fellow of the American Physics Society and was awarded, among others, the Humboldt Research Award, the Bourke Award by the Royal Society, the Chinese Academy of Science Presidential International Fellowship, and the Henri de Rothschild Fellowship at the Curie Institute, Paris.

Prof. David Andelman

Prof. Ruth Arnon
Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
President, The Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Ruth Arnon, a prominent immunologist, is the President of the Israeli Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the Paul Ehrlich Professor of Immunology at the Weizmann Institute of Science. Her scientific research has focused on the development of advanced vaccines, cancer research and parasitic diseases. She jointly developed Copaxone, a drug prescribed for the treatment of multiple sclerosis.
Prof. Edouard Brézin
École Normale Supérieure, France
Former President, French Academy of Sciences

Edouard Brezin has served in numerous scientific administrative positions including the Presidency of the Administrative Council of CNRS. He was elected a member of the French National Academy of Sciences in 1991 and served as its President from 2004 to 2006. He is the recipient of many distinctions and awards, both from the US and European Academies. In 2011, he was awarded the Dirac Medal for his scientific contributions to theoretical physics. In December 2012, the President of the Republic of Cyprus presented Brezin with the Grand Cross of the Order of Merit of Cyprus for his contribution in science, technology and education in Cyprus and the wider region. In January 2013 he was named as "Commander of the French Legion of Honor", one of the highest distinctions of the French Republic

Prof. Hany Mahfouz Helal
Cairo University, Egypt
Former Minister for Higher Education and Scientific Research of Egypt
Hany Helal served as Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research in Egypt. He is a Professor of Engineering at Cairo University and served as the Head of Singor University in Alexandria, Egypt.
Prof. Ioli Kalavrezou
Harvard University, USA
Ioli Kalavrezou is the Dumbarton Oaks Professor of Early Christian and Byzantine Art History at Harvard University. She has held professorships at UCLA and the University of Munich. Her research and publications focus on the arts of the empire of Byzantium.
Prof. Didier Roux
Delegate for Scientific Information and Communication of the French Academy of Sciences

Didier Roux currently serves as the Delegate for Scientific Information and Communication at the Académie des Sciences. Prof. Roux also served as the Vice President of Research & Development and Innovation and Director of Innovation of the Saint-Gobain Group in France and he is a member of the French Academy of Sciences.

A chemist by training, he has explored various facets of science and its interfaces (chemistry, physics, biology, industry, etc.) and has been awarded many prizes and distinctions including the Grand Prix IBM materials, the Grand Prix of the French Academy of Sciences Mergier Bourdeix and the Silver Medal of CNRS.


On behalf of the SEPs

Dr Michel Jarraud - Chair of the EEWRC SEP
Secretary General Emeritus, World Meteorological Organization (WMO).

Dr Michel Jarraud is the Secretary-General Emeritus of WMO from 2016. He served as the Deputy Secretary-General of WMO (1995-2003), the Secretary-General of WMO and as a Member of the Chief Executive Board (CEB) of the UN System (2004-2015).

He also served as the Chairman of UN-Water, the coordination body for all water related issues in the UN System Secretary-General Emeritus WMO (2012-2015). In 2016, he was awarded among other distinctions, with the highest distinction - Silver medal of the European Meteorological Society (EMS), for his contribution to the development of European meteorology.
Michel Jarraud

Bill Gropp - Chair of the CaSToRC SEP
Director, NCSA, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA

Gropp holds the Thomas M. Siebel Chair in Computer Science and has served as NCSA's chief scientist since 2015. He is a co-principal investigator of Blue Waters and was recently named principal investigator of the NSF-funded Midwest Big Data Hub.
Gropp is a leader in the advanced computing community who co-chaired the National Academies' Committee on Future Directions for NSF Advanced Computing Infrastructure to Support U.S. Science. His most widely known contribution to the scientific computing community was the development of the MPICH implementation of the Message Passing Interface (MPI). Gropp has authored more than 187 technical publications, including co-authoring the book Using MPI.
Gropp was recognized as the recipient of the 2016 ACM/IEEE Computer Society Ken Kennedy Award for his highly influential contributions to the programmability of high performance parallel and distributed computers.

b gropp

Alan Mark Pollard - Chair of the STARC SEP
Edward Hall Professor of Archaeological Science, School of Archaeology, University of Oxford, UK

Professor Alan Mark Pollard’s research over the past 35 years has encompassed the application of the physical sciences, particularly chemistry, within archaeology, and has included a wide range of topics. He is a Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry, a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries and a Member of the Oriental Ceramic Society.

Alan Mark Pollard



Publications & Media